Booker Prize Winners – Complete Listing and Author Background
There is a significant interest in collecting signed books by Booker Prize winning authors.

The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969. It is a prize for the year’s best original novel, published in English and in the UK. The name of the Prize comes from the original sponsor, food wholesaler Booker-McConnell, and in 2002 the Prize became a Foundation. The investment firm Man Group then became the main sponsor; it was decided to also keep the ‘Booker’ brand which was well known.  There is also now a Man Booker International Prize.
Each year there is a ‘long list’ and then a ‘short list’; then the winner is selected. The winner at present is announced each October.
The Prize website is
Other interesting web links:
Daily Telegraph:
The Guardian:
Booker Prize Archive:
List of Past Winners
2015       Marlon James                    A Brief History of Seven Killings
2014       Richard Flanagan              The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2013       Eleanor Catton                  The Luminaries
2012       Hilary Mantel                      Bring Up the Bodies
2011       Julian Barnes                     The Sense of an Ending
2010       Howard Jacobson               The Finkler Question
2009       Hilary Mantel                        Wolf Hall
2008       Aravind Adiga                      The White Tiger
2007       Anne Enright                        The Gathering
2006       Kiran Desai                          The Inheritance of Loss
2005       John Banville                        The Sea
2004       Alan Hollinghurst                  The Line of Beauty
2003       DBC Pierre                          Vernon God Little
2002       Yann Martel                          Life of Pi
2001       Peter Carey                        True History of the Kelly Gang
2000       Margaret Atwood                The Blind Assassin
1999       J. M. Coetzee                     Disgrace
1998       Ian McEwan                       Amsterdam
1997       Arundhati Roy                    The God of Small Things
1996       Graham Swift                     Last Orders
1995       Pat Barker                          The Ghost Road
1994       James Kelman                   How Late It Was, How Late
1993       Roddy Doyle                      Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1992       Barry Unsworth                  Sacred Hunger (joint winner)
1992       Michael Ondaatje               The English Patient (joint winner)
1991       Ben Okri                              The Famished Road
1990       A. S. Byatt                           Possession
1989       Kazuo Ishiguro                  The Remains of the Day
1988       Peter Carey                        Oscar and Lucinda
1987       Penelope Lively                  Moon Tiger
1986       Kingsley Amis                    The Old Devils
1985       Keri Hulme                          The Bone People
1984       Anita Brookner                     Hotel du Lac
1983       J. M. Coetzee                        Life & Times of Michael K
1982       Thomas Keneally                  Schindler's Ark
1981       Salman Rushdie                    Midnight's Children
1980       William Golding                     Rites of Passage
1979       Penelope Fitzgerald              Offshore
1978       Iris Murdoch                          The Sea, the Sea
1977       Paul Scott                              Staying On
1976       David Storey                           Saville
1975       Ruth Prawer Jhabvala            Heat and Dust
1974       Nadine Gordimer                    The Conservationist
1973       J. G. Farrell                             The Siege of Krishnapur
1972       John Berger                             G.
1971       V. S. Naipaul                            In a Free State
1970       J. G. Farrell                             Troubles (retrospective award)
1970       Bernice Rubens                       The Elected Member
1969       P. H. Newby                             Something to Answer For